Thursday, June 8, 2017

5 Out of 5 Stars for Wing Dog Soul Pup by Janelle Jalbert....


                                             


From amazon.com
     Angels do indeed come in fur suits. 
It's love at first sight...for both of them. An abandoned yet tenacious pup with one blue eye and one brown eye beats the odds and is enlisted as one woman's WINGDOG. It's a role he takes seriously, but he knows that his human needs more than just another set of eyes and ears. He must show her how to laugh and how to love again. His loyalty knows no bounds, and he takes his duties seriously riding shotgun as the pair travel life's highway.


A dog may be man's best friend, but the truth is...A WINGDOG is truly a woman's gift.
For readers who enjoy contemporary canine classics such as MARLEY & ME, THE ART OF RACING IN THE RAIN, and A DOG'S PURPOSE, Janelle Jalbert's 'Magical Mutt Memoir' combines the best of these storytelling traditions. Told as a memoir - adhering to how events unfolded - one woman seeks establish a new life after moving across the country from California to North Carolina.


Her chance at a new normal arrives in the form of Goose, a pup that melts not only her heart but also the hearts of everyone that he meets. As they travel coast-to-coast and places in between, the bond that the two share proves that love and loyalty can transcend even the greatest of obstacles. 


 
About the Author
  • Janelle Jalbert is an award-winning author of tales that promote the"Magic of Everyday Life". WINGDOG: Soul Pup, A Magical Mutt Memoir is her latest non-fiction release. Her latest fiction release, TRIANGULATING BLISS (Book 1 in the MYSTIQUE OF LIVING Series) is a tale of living life to the fullest and the cross genre fiction medalist in the 2015 New Apple Book Awards. She also has ghostwritten more than a dozen books,on a range of topics, for clients around the world and has worked as a copywriter for major international corporations. She is also the author of FLASH 40: Life's Moments - awarded the Silver Medal for anthologies at the 2015 Readers' Favorite International Book Awards - and WINE FOR BEGINNERS. During her ten year tenure as a teacher, Jalbert also worked as a motorsports reporter along with other pursuits. She currently resides in Southern California but is prone to wanderlust when her pack of pups allows it.
     
    My Review: 
    I admit it. I love stories and books about animals. All animals. Hence, it was a natural for me to pick Wing Dog, Soul Pup by Janelle Jalbert to read and review. A dog may be a man’s best friend, but in this case, a dog turned out to be the author’s best friend and soul pup. Jalbert is a Southern California transplant who relocated to North Carolina. That alone brings with it a bit of culture shock. Alone in the south, she needs a bit of guidance and comfort. Enter Wing Doug, a pup she adopts and immediately goes to making her life less lonely. Written with feeling from the heart, Jalbert does a great job of bringing her tale to life. With a bit of humor, love and style, Wing Dog, Soul Pup touched my heart. It made me laugh and cry. It made me snicker and smile. If you love a good story, particularly one involving animals, may I suggest this tale of soul? Add to it a bit of Wing Dog.


Product Details:
  • File Size: 2289 KB
  • Print Length: 259 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Synchron8 Publishing; 1 edition (March 7, 2016)
  • Publication Date: March 7, 2016
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01923YL28 

                   

Until next review, stay safe. Smile! Be happy! Show compassion to others. Be nice to one another. Be a voice for the voiceless! Read a book and pass it on. Review it. Cheers!
Regards,

S.J. Francis
In Shattered Lies: "It's All About Family."  Released from Black Opal Books Oct. 24th, 2015 and available at all on-line retailers and indie booksellers.
My Official web page: http://www.sjfranciswriter.com

My Black Opal Books Author Page:
A Book Review 4 U: abookreview4u.blogspot.com
                                                          
A Consumer's View: aconsumersview.blogspot.com
 
OnefortheAnimals:    onefortheanimals.blogspot.com
 
 

                                  
And now for some legal stuff: Copyright 2016 by S.J. Francis. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the author, S. J. Francis and are meant to entertain, inform and enlighten, and intend to offend no one. 








Thursday, May 11, 2017

5 Stars for Felines French cat poems by Norman Shapiro...


Description:

The French have long had a love affair with the cat, expressed through centuries of poetry portraying the animal's wit and wonder. Norman R. Shapiro lionizes the felines' limitless allure in this one-of-a-kind collection. Spanning centuries and styles, he draws on she-cats and toms, and an honor roll of French poets, well known and lesser known, who have served as their devoted champions. He reveals the remarkable range of French cat poems, with most works presented here for the first time in English translation. Scrupulously devoted to evoking the meaning and music of the originals, Shapiro also respects the works' formal structures. Pairing his translations with Olga Pastuchiv's elegant illustrations, Fe-Lines guides the reader through the marvels and inscrutabilities of the Mystique féline .  

My review:                 

The French aren’t the only ones that love cats, but this book shows how much their love affair with the cat is. I love cats and poetry. Hence, this was a natural read for me. I love this book and highly recommend it. Author Norman Shapiro translates the poems, and then provides the originals in the back of the book, making this volume ideal for those who read either or both English and French. Of course, this book is all about cats. The poems cover the modern and classic. One does not have to love cats to enjoy the prose in this book.

Overall, for anyone that adores poetry and/or cats, I highly recommend this book for you. 

 

About the author:

Norman R. Shapiro, translator of French poetry and theater, is Distinguished Professor of Literary Translation at Wesleyan University. As Officier de l'Ordre des Arts et des Lettres de la République Française and member of the Academy of American Poets, he has published numerous award-winning collections, including The Complete Fables of Jean de La Fontaine. Olga Pastuchiv's art enlivens a number of volumes, among them her children's picture book Minas and the Fish.



                   

Until next review, stay safe. Smile! Show compassion to others. Be nice to one another. Read a book and pass it on. Review it. Be a voice for the voiceless! Cheers!
Regards,

S.J. Francis
In Shattered Lies: "It's All About Family."  Released from Black Opal Books Oct. 24th, 2015 and available at all on-line retailers and indie booksellers.
My Official web page: http://www.sjfranciswriter.com
My Black Opal Books Author Page:
            http://www.blackopalbooks.com/author-bios/bio-sj-francis 
Twitter: https://twitter.com/sjfrancis419
Face Book:  https://www.facebook.com/pages/SJ-Francis/480058115420325
My Blogs: sjfranciswriter.blogspot.com 
A Book Review 4 U: abookreview4u.blogspot.com
                                                          
A Consumer's View: aconsumersview.blogspot.com
 
OnefortheAnimals:    onefortheanimals.blogspot.com
 
Google Plus: https://plus.google.com/u/0/104831238907682620486/about 
Good Reads:       http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8423986.S_J_Francis
                                  
And now for some legal stuff: Copyright 2016 by S.J. Francis. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the author, S. J. Francis and are meant to entertain, inform and enlighten, and intend to offend no one. 









Thursday, April 13, 2017

Lola Shines Through-4 Stars for this Debut Crime Thriller Novel



From amazon.com:
An astonishing debut crime thriller about an unforgettable woman who combines the genius and ferocity of Lisbeth Salander with the ruthless ambition of Walter WhiteThe Crenshaw Six are a small but up-and-coming gang in South Central LA who have recently been drawn into an escalating war between rival drug cartels. To outsiders, the Crenshaw Six appear to be led by a man named Garcia . . . but what no one has figured out is that the gang's real leader (and secret weapon) is Garcia's girlfriend, a brilliant young woman named Lola. Lola has mastered playing the role of submissive girlfriend, and in the man's world she inhabits she is consistently underestimated. But in truth she is much, much smarter--and in many ways tougher and more ruthless--than any of the men around her, and as the gang is increasingly sucked into a world of high-stakes betrayal and brutal violence, her skills and leadership become their only hope of survival.      

Lola marks the debut of a hugely exciting new thriller writer, and of a singular, magnificent character unlike anyone else in fiction.

My Review:
This is not one of my favorite books. I love the strong heroine, but the subject matter leaves much to be desired. Despite that, I enjoyed the writing, the depth of characters and the author’s voice. The book is definitely a compelling read with a great deal of action and very little time for the reader to catch their breath. The stereo types are a bit too much to handle, but fortunately the richness of the writing surpasses that. Another con in this book is that the woman are redeemed, but the men are not. In real life, both can be redeemed, but only if they really want it, which most criminals do not, but that’s another topic for discussion. All in all, Lola is a satisfying read.

I enjoyed Lola and recommend it to anyone in need of a crime thriller to quench the thirst for blood and guts and Latin gangs. You may find the subject matter old, worn out and typical but you will find Lola anything but. I actually read this book in all of two days, which says a great deal for a book I didn’t expect much from. I look forward to reading more from this new author.
Disclaimer: I received a copy of Lola from Blogging for Books in exchange for a fair and honest review.

About the Author
MELISSA SCRIVNER LOVE was born to a police officer father and a court stenographer mother. After earning a master's degree in English Literature from New York University, Melissa moved to Los Angeles, where she has lived for over a decade. During that time, she has written for several television shows, among them Life, CSI: Miami, and Person of Interest. She and her husband, a comedy writer and Los Angeles native, welcomed their daughter in 2014. Lola is her first novel.

Product details
Hardcover: 336 pages
Publisher: Crown (March 21, 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0451496108
ISBN-13: 978-0451496102

Available in eBook, Hardcover and Audible.


                     

Until next review, stay safe. Smile! Show compassion to others. Be nice to one another. Read a book and pass it on. Review it. Be a voice for the voiceless! Cheers!
Regards,

S.J. Francis
In Shattered Lies: "It's All About Family."  Released from Black Opal Books Oct. 24th, 2015 and available at all on-line retailers and indie booksellers. 
My Official web page: http://www.sjfranciswriter.com
My Black Opal Books Author Page:
A Book Review 4 U: abookreview4u.blogspot.com
                                                          
A Consumer's View: aconsumersview.blogspot.com
OnefortheAnimals:    onefortheanimals.blogspot.com

                                  
And now for some legal stuff: Copyright 2017 by S.J. Francis. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the author, S. J. Francis and are meant to entertain, inform and enlighten, and intend to offend no one. 



Thursday, March 9, 2017

5 Out of 5 Stars for Living with Canine Epilepsy. It's All About Your Dog & You.....


From Amazon.com:

Epilepsy was first recognized in ancient times and referred to by Hippocrates as the "sacred" disease. But nothing about it seems sacred! Watching your beloved companion suffer a seizure can be an extremely traumatic event. Learning to live with an animal with complex health issues is never easy; learning to live with two dogs with severe epilepsy can be an overwhelming task. Epilepsy manifests in frightening ways, causing a dog to experience sudden, uncontrolled attacks. Living with a dog that has epilepsy can be a daunting prospect, but with the help of a vet and a lot of planning your dog(s) can live a relatively normal life. Common sense combined with medicine can make canine epilepsy manageable. If you are new to dealing with a pet with epilepsy, take a step back and don’t forget to breath. While I can't promise you that everything will be fine, I can tell you from personal experience that sticking with your pet(s) and getting them on a proper medication regimen can lead to many hours of happiness and beautiful memories.

About the author:
A. Piper Burgi is an Air Force Veteran, former Air Force contractor and a military spouse. She is the author of several photographic travel journals, and the wartime memoirs “My Afghanistan Campaign Diary” and “Beyond Afghanistan”. When she’s not busy chasing after her two dogs or holding on tightly to a good cup of coffee, she can be found typing away on her laptop. To learn more about the author and her work, please visit her website at www.authorapiperburgi.com

My Review:
I once had a dog that I rescued from a shelter at the age of seven that had epilepsy, which is one reason I chose to read and review this book. I researched a great deal about canine epilepsy after his adoption to be prepared for that inevitable day. Fortunately, he never had one seizure in the nearly three years we had him. Sadly, cancer took him but at least with us he knew what a forever home was. I wish had Living with Canine Epilepsy by A. Piper Burgi back then, just in case. After reading this book, I realized just how very fortunate we were that our dog didn’t have any seizures. I always heard how scary a seizure was and this book illustrated that.
This is a biography of a pet owner that lived with two dogs that had epilepsy. Ms. Piper Burgi did a wonderful job of sharing her experiences, good and bad. In order to help her dogs, she experimented with changes in diet and medication. Her insight here is invaluable. There is no reason that special needs or handicapped dogs can’t enjoy life. Nor you. She proved that in Living with Canine Epilepsy.
The book needs a bit of editing. Not much. And I could have lived without so much discussion of her husband’s deployments, but other than that, this was a worthwhile read and I’m glad I chose it. I cried for A. Piper Burgi when she and her husband were forced to put Lana-girl and Darren-puppy to sleep. They sounded like two wonderful dogs who deserved better than the short lives they were given. Thanks to the author and her husband, at least these two dogs had a safe and loving home despite having to live with canine epilepsy.
This is an enjoyable and quick read. I highly recommend Living with Canine Epilepsy by A. Piper Burgi for owners of dogs with epilepsy. There is no reason that any dog owner couldn't benefit from it either. There are lots of photos she shared. She also provided a wealth of references for canine epilepsy and even some doggie recipes. A valuable resource about living with Canine Epilepsy from someone that knows.

                   

Until next review, stay safe. Smile! Show compassion to others. Be nice to one another. Read a book and pass it on. Review it. Be a voice for the voiceless! Cheers!
Regards,

S.J. Francis
In Shattered Lies: "It's All About Family."  Released from Black Opal Books Oct. 24th, 2015 and available at all on-line retailers and indie booksellers.
My Official web page: http://www.sjfranciswriter.com

My Black Opal Books Author Page:
A Book Review 4 U: abookreview4u.blogspot.com
                                                          
A Consumer's View: aconsumersview.blogspot.com
 
OnefortheAnimals:    onefortheanimals.blogspot.com
 
 

                                  
And now for some legal stuff: Copyright 2016 by S.J. Francis. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the author, S. J. Francis and are meant to entertain, inform and enlighten, and intend to offend no one. 







Thursday, February 9, 2017

It Should Have Been Just Another Termination-5 Stars for A Cozy Mystery by Linda Thorne...


From Amazon.com:

At long last, she lands a job with a good employer, but the trouble is just beginning…

Human resources manager Judy Kenagy hopes her days of running from bad bosses and guilt-ridden memories are over. But alas, she’s barely settled in when a young female employee is found shot to death, spinning her new workplace into turmoil. Small-town police chief, Carl Bombardier solicits Judy’s help in her role as the company’s HR Manager. While working with Judy, he shares his fanatical interest in a twenty-five-year-old double homicide he believes is linked to her last and worst bad boss. To make matters worse, the trusted assistant of her monster ex-boss starts showing up, keeping the unwanted connection going. When the pesky trusted assistant turns up murdered, Judy learns there’s a connection with the shooting death of the employee. She starts sleuthing at the crime scene and stumbles upon an important piece of evidence. Can she solve all of the murders with this single find? If she does, will she finally be freed from the demons of her past? Or are things not as they seem?
 

About the Author:

Linda Thorne was born in a podunk little town somewhere in the Deep South, but by the time she was six weeks old, she was living in Phoenix, Arizona. There, the feeling of being misplaced stayed with her. As soon as she was of age, she started moving. First, to Minnesota, which didn't feel right, so back to her desert city. Then to the Midwest, returning to Phoenix twelve months later. Her next move took her to California, then Colorado. Her wanderlust stayed with her until she rediscovered living in the South where her debut novel is set.

Thorne's career, like her lead character's, is in HR management, but she began pursuing her true passion, writing, in 2005. Just Another Termination is the first in a series of mysteries that tell the story of Judy Kenagy, the first human resources manager to turn sleuth. She is currently writing the second book in her series, A Promotion to Die For. Thorne lives in Nashville, Tennessee with her husband and two border collies.

My Review:            5 out of 5 stars.

"At long last, she lands a job with a good employer, but the trouble is just beginning…
Human resources manager Judy Kenagy hopes her days of running from bad bosses and guilt-ridden memories are over.”

But to say that human resources manager, Judy Kenaghy is wrong about that is an understatement. Just Another Termination is anything but just another termination. Who would think being a human resources manager could be so dangerous? Just Another Termination is a cozy mystery that begins strongly, with a bang, drawing the reader in. It does slow down a bit before it continues an uphill climb building up to the final climax when all is revealed and tied up tight. Mysteries always interested me, with cozy mysteries being no exception. I’m not a big fan of stories told in first person, but Ms. Thorne is so adept with it here that I hardly noticed it.

I found the premise of a Human resources manager being drawn into solving a murder an intriguing aspect of this book. It is certainly original. And why not? Anyone can get caught up in the same situation, which makes the storyline a credible one. Perhaps, not everyone would try to solve a murder, but that's the lure of cozy mysteries. As with any good cozy, there are lots of characters present to choose from as the suspect.  

I currently live in Mississippi and regularly visit Ocean Springs and the nearby areas. This book took me on a trip down there before Hurricane Katrina struck the Gulf Coast and devastated the area. Though, the area is being rebuilt some things may never rebound. Through Just Another Termination, I was able to take a trip back in time to visit the town before Hurricane Katrina struck and devastated the area. If you enjoy traveling, take a trip down to the Mississippi Gulf Coast with Judy from the comfort of your favorite seat. 
     Just Another Termination is available at amazon, barnes and noble and al other on-line retailers.

                    

Until next review, stay safe. Smile! Show compassion to others. Be nice to one another. Read a book and pass it on. Review it. Be a voice for the voiceless! Cheers!
Regards,

S.J. Francis
In Shattered Lies: "It's All About Family."  Released from Black Opal Books Oct. 24th, 2015 and available at all on-line retailers and indie booksellers.
My Official web page: http://www.sjfranciswriter.com

My Black Opal Books Author Page:
 
A Consumer's View: aconsumersview.blogspot.com
 
OnefortheAnimals:    onefortheanimals.blogspot.com
 
 

 
And now for some legal stuff: Copyright 2016 by S.J. Francis. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the author, S. J. Francis and are meant to entertain, inform and enlighten, and intend to offend no one. 

Thursday, January 12, 2017

Love animals? Have children? 5 Stars for A Tale of Two Squirrels by A.T. Baron.....

     A Tale of Two Squirrels Paperback January 9, 2013  by A. T. Baron  (Author)
                                                                                               



     From amazon.com:
     A squirrel’s life is never dull and Effie’s is no exception. Effie awakes to a new spring day and some news that a storm may be approaching her home. She seeks out information on the weather by talking to the many animals with which she shares the woods. She is surprised with the arrival of Simon, a strange black squirrel that recently lost his home from some wild weather. She listens to his tale and begins to find comfort in his companionship. Effie and Simon set off together to her home before the storm blows them away. They are able to survive the rough winds, hail, and lightning, but her home ends up completely destroyed. Now they must avoid any predators and travel through the forest in search for a new place to call home. This story invites the reader on a journey with a squirrel in danger of losing her home and her life, but finding love in the process.

     

Product Details

         Paperback: 56 pages
         Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (January 9, 2013)
         Language: English
         ISBN-10: 1452862737
         ISBN-13: 978-1452862736
         Product Dimensions: 5.2 x 0.1 x 8 inches
                                              

     About the Author
Angela T. Baron is the author and illustrator of the children's books A Tale of Two Squirrels (2013) and Squirrely Over Nuts (2010). With a BS in Zoology, she began writing for children, using nature as an outlet to teach them about various issues and entertain them at the same time. Now she has expanded to include young adults in her audience. She is a member of the Society of Children's Book Writers & Illustrators and also the creator of the I Otter Be® line of illustrations that are available through her website. She lives with her husband and two children in western New York.



My Review:   5 stars    Love it and highly recommend! Any animal lover would.


    When I saw this book available to read and review on Reading Alley, I immediately requested it. I love animals and books about animals are a plus for me to read. Squirrels are no exception. I always feed them in my backyard aside from all the other wildlife.  Sometimes they’re a bit annoying, but I like feeding them just the same. A Tale of Two Squirrels didn’t disappoint. It’s a great book for children of all ages. I’m well over the age intended, but that didn’t diminish the fact that I truly enjoyed reading it. It’s full of action and all kinds of forest animals. There’s Major the big owl, an otter family, Mr. Nibbler the porcupine, different birds and more. Not just for children, any animal lover will enjoy this book. I did. The only drawback I saw was not enough illustrations. The book is well-written and contains beautifully sketched illustrations, but since it is a children’s book, I would have expected more illustrations. The pacing is steady and keeps you interested.


     Fearing a storm headed her way, Effie asks her neighbors about it and that is when she encounters a male squirrel named Simon. His home was just destroyed from the last storm. When a big storm strikes the woods Effie lives in, the two squirrels seek shelter in the least likely place. The storm destroys her nest along with many other trees and homes of other animals living in the forest. As a result, the two squirrels must find a new home, together. This is a truly lovely book, which I won’t hesitate recommending to anyone else.
                                                                                   



Disclaimer: I received a review copy from Reading Alley in exchange for a fair and honest review.

    Thanks again for visiting abookreview4u! It's always a pleasure to meet other readers.
    Until next review, stay safe. Smile! Show compassion to others. Be nice to one another. Read a book and pass it on. Review it. Cheers!
    Regards,

    S.J. Francis
    In Shattered Lies: "Good and bad, it's All About Family." Available now from Black Opal Books and for sale at on-line retailers and indie booksellers.       
    "Some secrets should remain that way."