Tuesday, August 15, 2017

A book review for The Paladins of Naertia by T.P. Keane ....5 Stars...

                                               Product Details

Synopsis: From amazon.com:
A vision sparks the beginning of treachery and war, and the kingdom of Naretia is about to fall....
Olórin’s adopted son, Aramus, is a creature unlike any in Naretia. He is feared by all, and holds a darkness inside that is said will end all life by his eighteenth birthday. Olórin must scour the kingdom for godly ingredients to make a potion for Aramus that will save them all. He is hoping his son’s human side will prevail over the rising darkness within him, for long enough to outrun their enemies.
But Aramus’s real father, the dark God Dantet, desires his son’s powers so he might, once again, walk on mortal soil. His legion of dark creatures follow Olórin and Aramus at every turn, trying to kill them. Dantet’s army, however, is not the only one wanting Aramus dead. Something, or someone, changes fate’s hand. Neither Dantet, nor Olórin, can see the terrible future that threatens them all. Even the traitors within the wizard caste are blind to what is coming.

But it is coming.

My Review:                                                                
Great debut novel! Compelling fantasy read! Highly Recommend!
    Truthfully, though I’ve long been a fan of reading science fiction and fantasy, it has been years since I’ve done so. This being said, I enjoyed this delve back into fantasy. I had no idea what I was getting into when I first began reading, but it turned out to be a very pleasant surprise. Author T.P. Keane knows how to spin words and worlds in this tale of treachery and war, and the kingdom of Naertia. There is action adventure at every turn. Every fantasy fan should enjoy this one. I certainly did, though as I’ve said, it’s been awhile since I read a fantasy tale. It has every kind of character you can imagine in it. Good and bad. There are dwarves, wolves, wizards and a wicked queen. There are characters to cheer on and those to spit at.
Take a read with The Paladins of Naertia and enter a world of worlds to distract you. I’m sure you won’t be disappointed. 

Until my next review, stay safe. Smile! Show compassion to others. Be nice to one another. Read a book and pass it on. Review it. Reviews are very important tool for authors. Cheers!
Regards,
S.J. Francis
In Shattered Lies: "It's All About Family."  Now available from Black Opal Books at all on-line retailers and independent bookstores.
                          
    "Some secrets should remain that way."
                                       My Official web page: http://sjfranciswriter.com
            My Black Opal Books Author Page:
            http://www.blackopalbooks.com/author-bios/bio-sj-francis
My web page: http://sjfranciswriter.com
Twitter: https://twitter.com/sjfrancis419
Face Book:  https://www.facebook.com/pages/SJ-Francis/480058115420325
My Blogs: sjfranciswriter.blogspot.com 
                                                               
A Book Review 4 U: abookreview4u.blogspot.com
A Consumer's View: aconsumersview.blogspot.com
OnefortheAnimals:    onefortheanimals.blogspot.com
Pinterest:   http://www.pinterest.com/sjfrancis419/

Google Plus: https://plus.google.com/u/0/104831238907682620486/about 
Good Reads:       https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/33550975-s-j
                                      


 
And now for some legal stuff: Copyright 2017 by S.J. Francis. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the author, S. J. Francis and are meant to entertain, inform and enlighten, and intend to offend no one.





Tuesday, July 11, 2017

5 Out of 5 Stars for Nisei by J.J. White....

Synopsis: After the attack on Pearl Harbor, the United States Government encouraged all eligible young men to enlist immediately in the fight against its enemies overseas--all eligible young men, except Japanese-Americans. Nisei is the story of Hideo "Bobby" Takahashi, a Hawaiian-born Japanese-American who must overcome prejudice, internment, and the policies of his own government to prove his loyalty to his country. Narrated by Bobby Takahashi and read by his son, Robert, forty-six years after Bobby's death, the story details the young Nisei's determination to fight honorably for his country and return to the young love he was forced to leave--a girl he cannot have because she is White.

My Review: 
I received this book as a gift and devoured it in just two nights of reading. Excellent book about the Japanese-Americans during the time of World War II and the issues facing them and all Americans. Down on his luck in the year 2000, Robert Takahashi is aimed to kill himself. That is until, he finds a memoir written by his late father, Hideo "Bobby" Takahashi. The memoir is touching, gripping and revealing more than Robert could have ever foreseen coming.

Having once lived in Hawaii, and having Hawaiian relatives, including Japanese members, I commend the author on his research and accuracy of Hawaiian pidgin and words.  One couldn't get any closer to the subject and experience it other than being there.

This is an excellent book. Well written and researched and full of emotion!

About the Author:
  J.J. White ( www.jjwhitebooks.com ) has penned eight novels and over three hundred short stories. He has had articles and stories published in several anthologies and magazines including, Wordsmith, The Homestead Review, The Seven Hills Review, Bacopa Review, and The Grey Sparrow Journal. His story, The Adventure of the Nine Hole League, was recently published in the Sherlock Holmes Mystery Magazine, Volume 13. His story, "Lucky Bastard Club" was recently published by The Saturday Evening Post." He has won awards and honors from the Alabama Writers Conclave, Writers-Editors International, Maryland Writers Association, The Royal Palm Literary Awards, Professional Writers of Prescott, and Writer's Digest.

J.J. was recently nominated for the Pushcart Prize for his short piece Tour Bus. His novel, Prodigious Savant, was published in 2014 as part of a three book deal with Black Opal Books. His second novel, Deviant Acts, was published November 14, 2015. He enjoys writing, surfing, golf and tennis. He lives in Merritt Island, Florida with his understanding wife, editor, and typist, Pamela.

From amazon: Product Details
Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,538,693 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Until my next review, stay safe. Smile! Show compassion to others. Be nice to one another. Read a book and pass it on. Review it. Reviews are very important tool for authors. Cheers!
Regards,
S.J. Francis
In Shattered Lies: "It's All About Family."  Now available from Black Opal Books at all on-line retailers and independent bookstores.
                         
    "Some secrets should remain that way."
                                       My Official web page: http://sjfranciswriter.com
            My Black Opal Books Author Page:
            http://www.blackopalbooks.com/author-bios/bio-sj-francis
My web page: http://sjfranciswriter.com
Twitter: https://twitter.com/sjfrancis419
Face Book:  https://www.facebook.com/pages/SJ-Francis/480058115420325
My Blogs: sjfranciswriter.blogspot.com 
                                                              
A Book Review 4 U: abookreview4u.blogspot.com
A Consumer's View: aconsumersview.blogspot.com
OnefortheAnimals:    onefortheanimals.blogspot.com
Pinterest:   http://www.pinterest.com/sjfrancis419/

Google Plus: https://plus.google.com/u/0/104831238907682620486/about 
Good Reads:       https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/33550975-s-j
                                      


 
And now for some legal stuff: Copyright 2016 by S.J. Francis. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the author, S. J. Francis and are meant to entertain, inform and enlighten, and intend to offend no one.








Thursday, June 8, 2017

5 Out of 5 Stars for Wing Dog Soul Pup by Janelle Jalbert....


                                             


From amazon.com
     Angels do indeed come in fur suits. 
It's love at first sight...for both of them. An abandoned yet tenacious pup with one blue eye and one brown eye beats the odds and is enlisted as one woman's WINGDOG. It's a role he takes seriously, but he knows that his human needs more than just another set of eyes and ears. He must show her how to laugh and how to love again. His loyalty knows no bounds, and he takes his duties seriously riding shotgun as the pair travel life's highway.


A dog may be man's best friend, but the truth is...A WINGDOG is truly a woman's gift.
For readers who enjoy contemporary canine classics such as MARLEY & ME, THE ART OF RACING IN THE RAIN, and A DOG'S PURPOSE, Janelle Jalbert's 'Magical Mutt Memoir' combines the best of these storytelling traditions. Told as a memoir - adhering to how events unfolded - one woman seeks establish a new life after moving across the country from California to North Carolina.


Her chance at a new normal arrives in the form of Goose, a pup that melts not only her heart but also the hearts of everyone that he meets. As they travel coast-to-coast and places in between, the bond that the two share proves that love and loyalty can transcend even the greatest of obstacles. 


 
About the Author
  • Janelle Jalbert is an award-winning author of tales that promote the"Magic of Everyday Life". WINGDOG: Soul Pup, A Magical Mutt Memoir is her latest non-fiction release. Her latest fiction release, TRIANGULATING BLISS (Book 1 in the MYSTIQUE OF LIVING Series) is a tale of living life to the fullest and the cross genre fiction medalist in the 2015 New Apple Book Awards. She also has ghostwritten more than a dozen books,on a range of topics, for clients around the world and has worked as a copywriter for major international corporations. She is also the author of FLASH 40: Life's Moments - awarded the Silver Medal for anthologies at the 2015 Readers' Favorite International Book Awards - and WINE FOR BEGINNERS. During her ten year tenure as a teacher, Jalbert also worked as a motorsports reporter along with other pursuits. She currently resides in Southern California but is prone to wanderlust when her pack of pups allows it.
     
    My Review: 
    I admit it. I love stories and books about animals. All animals. Hence, it was a natural for me to pick Wing Dog, Soul Pup by Janelle Jalbert to read and review. A dog may be a man’s best friend, but in this case, a dog turned out to be the author’s best friend and soul pup. Jalbert is a Southern California transplant who relocated to North Carolina. That alone brings with it a bit of culture shock. Alone in the south, she needs a bit of guidance and comfort. Enter Wing Doug, a pup she adopts and immediately goes to making her life less lonely. Written with feeling from the heart, Jalbert does a great job of bringing her tale to life. With a bit of humor, love and style, Wing Dog, Soul Pup touched my heart. It made me laugh and cry. It made me snicker and smile. If you love a good story, particularly one involving animals, may I suggest this tale of soul? Add to it a bit of Wing Dog.


Product Details:
  • File Size: 2289 KB
  • Print Length: 259 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Synchron8 Publishing; 1 edition (March 7, 2016)
  • Publication Date: March 7, 2016
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01923YL28 

                   

Until next review, stay safe. Smile! Be happy! Show compassion to others. Be nice to one another. Be a voice for the voiceless! Read a book and pass it on. Review it. Cheers!
Regards,

S.J. Francis
In Shattered Lies: "It's All About Family."  Released from Black Opal Books Oct. 24th, 2015 and available at all on-line retailers and indie booksellers.
My Official web page: http://www.sjfranciswriter.com

My Black Opal Books Author Page:
A Book Review 4 U: abookreview4u.blogspot.com
                                                          
A Consumer's View: aconsumersview.blogspot.com
 
OnefortheAnimals:    onefortheanimals.blogspot.com
 
 

                                  
And now for some legal stuff: Copyright 2016 by S.J. Francis. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the author, S. J. Francis and are meant to entertain, inform and enlighten, and intend to offend no one. 








Thursday, May 11, 2017

5 Stars for Felines French cat poems by Norman Shapiro...


Description:

The French have long had a love affair with the cat, expressed through centuries of poetry portraying the animal's wit and wonder. Norman R. Shapiro lionizes the felines' limitless allure in this one-of-a-kind collection. Spanning centuries and styles, he draws on she-cats and toms, and an honor roll of French poets, well known and lesser known, who have served as their devoted champions. He reveals the remarkable range of French cat poems, with most works presented here for the first time in English translation. Scrupulously devoted to evoking the meaning and music of the originals, Shapiro also respects the works' formal structures. Pairing his translations with Olga Pastuchiv's elegant illustrations, Fe-Lines guides the reader through the marvels and inscrutabilities of the Mystique féline .  

My review:                 

The French aren’t the only ones that love cats, but this book shows how much their love affair with the cat is. I love cats and poetry. Hence, this was a natural read for me. I love this book and highly recommend it. Author Norman Shapiro translates the poems, and then provides the originals in the back of the book, making this volume ideal for those who read either or both English and French. Of course, this book is all about cats. The poems cover the modern and classic. One does not have to love cats to enjoy the prose in this book.

Overall, for anyone that adores poetry and/or cats, I highly recommend this book for you. 

 

About the author:

Norman R. Shapiro, translator of French poetry and theater, is Distinguished Professor of Literary Translation at Wesleyan University. As Officier de l'Ordre des Arts et des Lettres de la République Française and member of the Academy of American Poets, he has published numerous award-winning collections, including The Complete Fables of Jean de La Fontaine. Olga Pastuchiv's art enlivens a number of volumes, among them her children's picture book Minas and the Fish.



                   

Until next review, stay safe. Smile! Show compassion to others. Be nice to one another. Read a book and pass it on. Review it. Be a voice for the voiceless! Cheers!
Regards,

S.J. Francis
In Shattered Lies: "It's All About Family."  Released from Black Opal Books Oct. 24th, 2015 and available at all on-line retailers and indie booksellers.
My Official web page: http://www.sjfranciswriter.com
My Black Opal Books Author Page:
            http://www.blackopalbooks.com/author-bios/bio-sj-francis 
Twitter: https://twitter.com/sjfrancis419
Face Book:  https://www.facebook.com/pages/SJ-Francis/480058115420325
My Blogs: sjfranciswriter.blogspot.com 
A Book Review 4 U: abookreview4u.blogspot.com
                                                          
A Consumer's View: aconsumersview.blogspot.com
 
OnefortheAnimals:    onefortheanimals.blogspot.com
 
Google Plus: https://plus.google.com/u/0/104831238907682620486/about 
Good Reads:       http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8423986.S_J_Francis
                                  
And now for some legal stuff: Copyright 2016 by S.J. Francis. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the author, S. J. Francis and are meant to entertain, inform and enlighten, and intend to offend no one. 









Thursday, April 13, 2017

Lola Shines Through-4 Stars for this Debut Crime Thriller Novel



From amazon.com:
An astonishing debut crime thriller about an unforgettable woman who combines the genius and ferocity of Lisbeth Salander with the ruthless ambition of Walter WhiteThe Crenshaw Six are a small but up-and-coming gang in South Central LA who have recently been drawn into an escalating war between rival drug cartels. To outsiders, the Crenshaw Six appear to be led by a man named Garcia . . . but what no one has figured out is that the gang's real leader (and secret weapon) is Garcia's girlfriend, a brilliant young woman named Lola. Lola has mastered playing the role of submissive girlfriend, and in the man's world she inhabits she is consistently underestimated. But in truth she is much, much smarter--and in many ways tougher and more ruthless--than any of the men around her, and as the gang is increasingly sucked into a world of high-stakes betrayal and brutal violence, her skills and leadership become their only hope of survival.      

Lola marks the debut of a hugely exciting new thriller writer, and of a singular, magnificent character unlike anyone else in fiction.

My Review:
This is not one of my favorite books. I love the strong heroine, but the subject matter leaves much to be desired. Despite that, I enjoyed the writing, the depth of characters and the author’s voice. The book is definitely a compelling read with a great deal of action and very little time for the reader to catch their breath. The stereo types are a bit too much to handle, but fortunately the richness of the writing surpasses that. Another con in this book is that the woman are redeemed, but the men are not. In real life, both can be redeemed, but only if they really want it, which most criminals do not, but that’s another topic for discussion. All in all, Lola is a satisfying read.

I enjoyed Lola and recommend it to anyone in need of a crime thriller to quench the thirst for blood and guts and Latin gangs. You may find the subject matter old, worn out and typical but you will find Lola anything but. I actually read this book in all of two days, which says a great deal for a book I didn’t expect much from. I look forward to reading more from this new author.
Disclaimer: I received a copy of Lola from Blogging for Books in exchange for a fair and honest review.

About the Author
MELISSA SCRIVNER LOVE was born to a police officer father and a court stenographer mother. After earning a master's degree in English Literature from New York University, Melissa moved to Los Angeles, where she has lived for over a decade. During that time, she has written for several television shows, among them Life, CSI: Miami, and Person of Interest. She and her husband, a comedy writer and Los Angeles native, welcomed their daughter in 2014. Lola is her first novel.

Product details
Hardcover: 336 pages
Publisher: Crown (March 21, 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0451496108
ISBN-13: 978-0451496102

Available in eBook, Hardcover and Audible.


                     

Until next review, stay safe. Smile! Show compassion to others. Be nice to one another. Read a book and pass it on. Review it. Be a voice for the voiceless! Cheers!
Regards,

S.J. Francis
In Shattered Lies: "It's All About Family."  Released from Black Opal Books Oct. 24th, 2015 and available at all on-line retailers and indie booksellers. 
My Official web page: http://www.sjfranciswriter.com
My Black Opal Books Author Page:
A Book Review 4 U: abookreview4u.blogspot.com
                                                          
A Consumer's View: aconsumersview.blogspot.com
OnefortheAnimals:    onefortheanimals.blogspot.com

                                  
And now for some legal stuff: Copyright 2017 by S.J. Francis. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the author, S. J. Francis and are meant to entertain, inform and enlighten, and intend to offend no one. 



Thursday, March 9, 2017

5 Out of 5 Stars for Living with Canine Epilepsy. It's All About Your Dog & You.....


From Amazon.com:

Epilepsy was first recognized in ancient times and referred to by Hippocrates as the "sacred" disease. But nothing about it seems sacred! Watching your beloved companion suffer a seizure can be an extremely traumatic event. Learning to live with an animal with complex health issues is never easy; learning to live with two dogs with severe epilepsy can be an overwhelming task. Epilepsy manifests in frightening ways, causing a dog to experience sudden, uncontrolled attacks. Living with a dog that has epilepsy can be a daunting prospect, but with the help of a vet and a lot of planning your dog(s) can live a relatively normal life. Common sense combined with medicine can make canine epilepsy manageable. If you are new to dealing with a pet with epilepsy, take a step back and don’t forget to breath. While I can't promise you that everything will be fine, I can tell you from personal experience that sticking with your pet(s) and getting them on a proper medication regimen can lead to many hours of happiness and beautiful memories.

About the author:
A. Piper Burgi is an Air Force Veteran, former Air Force contractor and a military spouse. She is the author of several photographic travel journals, and the wartime memoirs “My Afghanistan Campaign Diary” and “Beyond Afghanistan”. When she’s not busy chasing after her two dogs or holding on tightly to a good cup of coffee, she can be found typing away on her laptop. To learn more about the author and her work, please visit her website at www.authorapiperburgi.com

My Review:
I once had a dog that I rescued from a shelter at the age of seven that had epilepsy, which is one reason I chose to read and review this book. I researched a great deal about canine epilepsy after his adoption to be prepared for that inevitable day. Fortunately, he never had one seizure in the nearly three years we had him. Sadly, cancer took him but at least with us he knew what a forever home was. I wish had Living with Canine Epilepsy by A. Piper Burgi back then, just in case. After reading this book, I realized just how very fortunate we were that our dog didn’t have any seizures. I always heard how scary a seizure was and this book illustrated that.
This is a biography of a pet owner that lived with two dogs that had epilepsy. Ms. Piper Burgi did a wonderful job of sharing her experiences, good and bad. In order to help her dogs, she experimented with changes in diet and medication. Her insight here is invaluable. There is no reason that special needs or handicapped dogs can’t enjoy life. Nor you. She proved that in Living with Canine Epilepsy.
The book needs a bit of editing. Not much. And I could have lived without so much discussion of her husband’s deployments, but other than that, this was a worthwhile read and I’m glad I chose it. I cried for A. Piper Burgi when she and her husband were forced to put Lana-girl and Darren-puppy to sleep. They sounded like two wonderful dogs who deserved better than the short lives they were given. Thanks to the author and her husband, at least these two dogs had a safe and loving home despite having to live with canine epilepsy.
This is an enjoyable and quick read. I highly recommend Living with Canine Epilepsy by A. Piper Burgi for owners of dogs with epilepsy. There is no reason that any dog owner couldn't benefit from it either. There are lots of photos she shared. She also provided a wealth of references for canine epilepsy and even some doggie recipes. A valuable resource about living with Canine Epilepsy from someone that knows.

                   

Until next review, stay safe. Smile! Show compassion to others. Be nice to one another. Read a book and pass it on. Review it. Be a voice for the voiceless! Cheers!
Regards,

S.J. Francis
In Shattered Lies: "It's All About Family."  Released from Black Opal Books Oct. 24th, 2015 and available at all on-line retailers and indie booksellers.
My Official web page: http://www.sjfranciswriter.com

My Black Opal Books Author Page:
A Book Review 4 U: abookreview4u.blogspot.com
                                                          
A Consumer's View: aconsumersview.blogspot.com
 
OnefortheAnimals:    onefortheanimals.blogspot.com
 
 

                                  
And now for some legal stuff: Copyright 2016 by S.J. Francis. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the author, S. J. Francis and are meant to entertain, inform and enlighten, and intend to offend no one.