Thursday, March 9, 2017

5 Out of 5 Stars for Living with Canine Epilepsy. It's All About Your Dog & You.....


From Amazon.com:

Epilepsy was first recognized in ancient times and referred to by Hippocrates as the "sacred" disease. But nothing about it seems sacred! Watching your beloved companion suffer a seizure can be an extremely traumatic event. Learning to live with an animal with complex health issues is never easy; learning to live with two dogs with severe epilepsy can be an overwhelming task. Epilepsy manifests in frightening ways, causing a dog to experience sudden, uncontrolled attacks. Living with a dog that has epilepsy can be a daunting prospect, but with the help of a vet and a lot of planning your dog(s) can live a relatively normal life. Common sense combined with medicine can make canine epilepsy manageable. If you are new to dealing with a pet with epilepsy, take a step back and don’t forget to breath. While I can't promise you that everything will be fine, I can tell you from personal experience that sticking with your pet(s) and getting them on a proper medication regimen can lead to many hours of happiness and beautiful memories.

About the author:
A. Piper Burgi is an Air Force Veteran, former Air Force contractor and a military spouse. She is the author of several photographic travel journals, and the wartime memoirs “My Afghanistan Campaign Diary” and “Beyond Afghanistan”. When she’s not busy chasing after her two dogs or holding on tightly to a good cup of coffee, she can be found typing away on her laptop. To learn more about the author and her work, please visit her website at www.authorapiperburgi.com

My Review:
I once had a dog that I rescued from a shelter at the age of seven that had epilepsy, which is one reason I chose to read and review this book. I researched a great deal about canine epilepsy after his adoption to be prepared for that inevitable day. Fortunately, he never had one seizure in the nearly three years we had him. Sadly, cancer took him but at least with us he knew what a forever home was. I wish had Living with Canine Epilepsy by A. Piper Burgi back then, just in case. After reading this book, I realized just how very fortunate we were that our dog didn’t have any seizures. I always heard how scary a seizure was and this book illustrated that.
This is a biography of a pet owner that lived with two dogs that had epilepsy. Ms. Piper Burgi did a wonderful job of sharing her experiences, good and bad. In order to help her dogs, she experimented with changes in diet and medication. Her insight here is invaluable. There is no reason that special needs or handicapped dogs can’t enjoy life. Nor you. She proved that in Living with Canine Epilepsy.
The book needs a bit of editing. Not much. And I could have lived without so much discussion of her husband’s deployments, but other than that, this was a worthwhile read and I’m glad I chose it. I cried for A. Piper Burgi when she and her husband were forced to put Lana-girl and Darren-puppy to sleep. They sounded like two wonderful dogs who deserved better than the short lives they were given. Thanks to the author and her husband, at least these two dogs had a safe and loving home despite having to live with canine epilepsy.
This is an enjoyable and quick read. I highly recommend Living with Canine Epilepsy by A. Piper Burgi for owners of dogs with epilepsy. There is no reason that any dog owner couldn't benefit from it either. There are lots of photos she shared. She also provided a wealth of references for canine epilepsy and even some doggie recipes. A valuable resource about living with Canine Epilepsy from someone that knows.

                   

Until next review, stay safe. Smile! Show compassion to others. Be nice to one another. Read a book and pass it on. Review it. Be a voice for the voiceless! Cheers!
Regards,

S.J. Francis
In Shattered Lies: "It's All About Family."  Released from Black Opal Books Oct. 24th, 2015 and available at all on-line retailers and indie booksellers.
My Official web page: http://www.sjfranciswriter.com

My Black Opal Books Author Page:
A Book Review 4 U: abookreview4u.blogspot.com
                                                          
A Consumer's View: aconsumersview.blogspot.com
 
OnefortheAnimals:    onefortheanimals.blogspot.com
 
 

                                  
And now for some legal stuff: Copyright 2016 by S.J. Francis. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the author, S. J. Francis and are meant to entertain, inform and enlighten, and intend to offend no one. 







Thursday, February 9, 2017

It Should Have Been Just Another Termination-5 Stars for A Cozy Mystery by Linda Thorne...


From Amazon.com:

At long last, she lands a job with a good employer, but the trouble is just beginning…

Human resources manager Judy Kenagy hopes her days of running from bad bosses and guilt-ridden memories are over. But alas, she’s barely settled in when a young female employee is found shot to death, spinning her new workplace into turmoil. Small-town police chief, Carl Bombardier solicits Judy’s help in her role as the company’s HR Manager. While working with Judy, he shares his fanatical interest in a twenty-five-year-old double homicide he believes is linked to her last and worst bad boss. To make matters worse, the trusted assistant of her monster ex-boss starts showing up, keeping the unwanted connection going. When the pesky trusted assistant turns up murdered, Judy learns there’s a connection with the shooting death of the employee. She starts sleuthing at the crime scene and stumbles upon an important piece of evidence. Can she solve all of the murders with this single find? If she does, will she finally be freed from the demons of her past? Or are things not as they seem?
 

About the Author:

Linda Thorne was born in a podunk little town somewhere in the Deep South, but by the time she was six weeks old, she was living in Phoenix, Arizona. There, the feeling of being misplaced stayed with her. As soon as she was of age, she started moving. First, to Minnesota, which didn't feel right, so back to her desert city. Then to the Midwest, returning to Phoenix twelve months later. Her next move took her to California, then Colorado. Her wanderlust stayed with her until she rediscovered living in the South where her debut novel is set.

Thorne's career, like her lead character's, is in HR management, but she began pursuing her true passion, writing, in 2005. Just Another Termination is the first in a series of mysteries that tell the story of Judy Kenagy, the first human resources manager to turn sleuth. She is currently writing the second book in her series, A Promotion to Die For. Thorne lives in Nashville, Tennessee with her husband and two border collies.

My Review:            5 out of 5 stars.

"At long last, she lands a job with a good employer, but the trouble is just beginning…
Human resources manager Judy Kenagy hopes her days of running from bad bosses and guilt-ridden memories are over.”

But to say that human resources manager, Judy Kenaghy is wrong about that is an understatement. Just Another Termination is anything but just another termination. Who would think being a human resources manager could be so dangerous? Just Another Termination is a cozy mystery that begins strongly, with a bang, drawing the reader in. It does slow down a bit before it continues an uphill climb building up to the final climax when all is revealed and tied up tight. Mysteries always interested me, with cozy mysteries being no exception. I’m not a big fan of stories told in first person, but Ms. Thorne is so adept with it here that I hardly noticed it.

I found the premise of a Human resources manager being drawn into solving a murder an intriguing aspect of this book. It is certainly original. And why not? Anyone can get caught up in the same situation, which makes the storyline a credible one. Perhaps, not everyone would try to solve a murder, but that's the lure of cozy mysteries. As with any good cozy, there are lots of characters present to choose from as the suspect.  

I currently live in Mississippi and regularly visit Ocean Springs and the nearby areas. This book took me on a trip down there before Hurricane Katrina struck the Gulf Coast and devastated the area. Though, the area is being rebuilt some things may never rebound. Through Just Another Termination, I was able to take a trip back in time to visit the town before Hurricane Katrina struck and devastated the area. If you enjoy traveling, take a trip down to the Mississippi Gulf Coast with Judy from the comfort of your favorite seat. 
     Just Another Termination is available at amazon, barnes and noble and al other on-line retailers.

                    

Until next review, stay safe. Smile! Show compassion to others. Be nice to one another. Read a book and pass it on. Review it. Be a voice for the voiceless! Cheers!
Regards,

S.J. Francis
In Shattered Lies: "It's All About Family."  Released from Black Opal Books Oct. 24th, 2015 and available at all on-line retailers and indie booksellers.
My Official web page: http://www.sjfranciswriter.com

My Black Opal Books Author Page:
 
A Consumer's View: aconsumersview.blogspot.com
 
OnefortheAnimals:    onefortheanimals.blogspot.com
 
 

 
And now for some legal stuff: Copyright 2016 by S.J. Francis. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the author, S. J. Francis and are meant to entertain, inform and enlighten, and intend to offend no one. 

Thursday, January 12, 2017

Love animals? Have children? 5 Stars for A Tale of Two Squirrels by A.T. Baron.....

     A Tale of Two Squirrels Paperback January 9, 2013  by A. T. Baron  (Author)
                                                                                               



     From amazon.com:
     A squirrel’s life is never dull and Effie’s is no exception. Effie awakes to a new spring day and some news that a storm may be approaching her home. She seeks out information on the weather by talking to the many animals with which she shares the woods. She is surprised with the arrival of Simon, a strange black squirrel that recently lost his home from some wild weather. She listens to his tale and begins to find comfort in his companionship. Effie and Simon set off together to her home before the storm blows them away. They are able to survive the rough winds, hail, and lightning, but her home ends up completely destroyed. Now they must avoid any predators and travel through the forest in search for a new place to call home. This story invites the reader on a journey with a squirrel in danger of losing her home and her life, but finding love in the process.

     

Product Details

         Paperback: 56 pages
         Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (January 9, 2013)
         Language: English
         ISBN-10: 1452862737
         ISBN-13: 978-1452862736
         Product Dimensions: 5.2 x 0.1 x 8 inches
                                              

     About the Author
Angela T. Baron is the author and illustrator of the children's books A Tale of Two Squirrels (2013) and Squirrely Over Nuts (2010). With a BS in Zoology, she began writing for children, using nature as an outlet to teach them about various issues and entertain them at the same time. Now she has expanded to include young adults in her audience. She is a member of the Society of Children's Book Writers & Illustrators and also the creator of the I Otter Be® line of illustrations that are available through her website. She lives with her husband and two children in western New York.



My Review:   5 stars    Love it and highly recommend! Any animal lover would.


    When I saw this book available to read and review on Reading Alley, I immediately requested it. I love animals and books about animals are a plus for me to read. Squirrels are no exception. I always feed them in my backyard aside from all the other wildlife.  Sometimes they’re a bit annoying, but I like feeding them just the same. A Tale of Two Squirrels didn’t disappoint. It’s a great book for children of all ages. I’m well over the age intended, but that didn’t diminish the fact that I truly enjoyed reading it. It’s full of action and all kinds of forest animals. There’s Major the big owl, an otter family, Mr. Nibbler the porcupine, different birds and more. Not just for children, any animal lover will enjoy this book. I did. The only drawback I saw was not enough illustrations. The book is well-written and contains beautifully sketched illustrations, but since it is a children’s book, I would have expected more illustrations. The pacing is steady and keeps you interested.


     Fearing a storm headed her way, Effie asks her neighbors about it and that is when she encounters a male squirrel named Simon. His home was just destroyed from the last storm. When a big storm strikes the woods Effie lives in, the two squirrels seek shelter in the least likely place. The storm destroys her nest along with many other trees and homes of other animals living in the forest. As a result, the two squirrels must find a new home, together. This is a truly lovely book, which I won’t hesitate recommending to anyone else.
                                                                                   



Disclaimer: I received a review copy from Reading Alley in exchange for a fair and honest review.

    Thanks again for visiting abookreview4u! It's always a pleasure to meet other readers.
    Until next review, stay safe. Smile! Show compassion to others. Be nice to one another. Read a book and pass it on. Review it. Cheers!
    Regards,

    S.J. Francis
    In Shattered Lies: "Good and bad, it's All About Family." Available now from Black Opal Books and for sale at on-line retailers and indie booksellers.       
    "Some secrets should remain that way."
 



Thursday, December 15, 2016

Just in time for holiday season: I give Happy Homicides 5 stars.....


Happy Homicides 13 Cozy Mysteries for the Holidays Vol. 1...




From Amazon.com:

A huge collection of heartwarming, brain-puzzling, and character-driven traditional mysteries that'll keep you entertained for hours. (At 213,000 words, this is 627 pages of reading material!) Plus, you can email to get a FREE Bonus File with recipes and holiday craft ideas. Celebrate the holidays with stories by these thirteen bestselling and award-winning authors: Joanna Campbell Slan, Neil Plakcy, Lois Winston, Annie Adams, Jenna Bennett, Nancy Jill Thames, Sara Rosett, Camille Minichino, Nancy Warren, Linda Gordon Hengerer, Joyce and Jim Lavene, and Teresa Trent.


My Review:         

This is a collection of Cozy Holiday Homicides just in time for the Holiday Season. First, I must admit that when I asked to read and review this book, I was not familiar with any of the authors. I love cozy mysteries, though and couldn’t resist wanting to read this collection of thirteen stories all in one huge compilation of 669 pages. Some of the stories have murder in them. Some do not. All the stories are well written, well-paced mysteries that are character driven and they are “cozy” mysteries. There are stories with animals in them and some without. Some of the stories I enjoyed more than others, but overall I liked them all.

I really enjoyed this set and can recommend it to others without any difficulty, especially now around the holiday season. I wish there was a paperback version available in order that I could purchase it and keep it in my home library and read when I felt like reading a cozy mystery short story. There’s a variety of stories here, enough for someone to love. My personal favorites were Dog Forbid, Teddy Saves Christmas, and The Dog Who came For Christmas. Yes, these have animals starring in them.

Disclaimer: I received a copy of the e-Pub from Reading Alley in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Product Details from amazon.com

  • File Size: 1985 KB
  • Print Length: 669 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Spot On Publishing (October 15, 2015)
  • Publication Date: October 15, 2015
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B015D1E6TQ

Until next review, stay safe. Smile! Show compassion to others. Be nice to one another. Be a voice for the voiceless! Read a book and pass it on. Review it. Reviews are very important tool for authors. Cheers!
Regards,
S.J. Francis
In Shattered Lies: "It's All About Family."  Now available from Black Opal Books at all on-line retailers and independent bookstores.
    "Some secrets should remain that way."
                                               My Official web page: http://sjfranciswriter.com
            My Black Opal Books Author Page:
            http://www.blackopalbooks.com/author-bios/bio-sj-francis
Twitter: https://twitter.com/sjfrancis419
Face Book:  https://www.facebook.com/pages/SJ-Francis/480058115420325

My Blogs: sjfranciswriter.blogspot.com 
                                                            
 
  
 
And now for some legal stuff: Copyright 2016 by S.J. Francis. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the author, S. J. Francis and are meant to entertain, inform and enlighten, and intend to offend no one.










Thursday, November 17, 2016

4 Stars for Seven for A Secret, a Paranormal Romance by Rumer Haven...

                           

From amazon.com:
It's the year 2000, and twenty-four-year-old Kate moves into a new apartment to find a new state of independence in a new millennium. Almost immediately, she starts crushing on a hot guy who lives in her building. Deciding to take a break from her boyfriend Dexter, Kate believes the only thing now separating her from the fresh object of her sexual fantasies is the thin wall between their neighboring apartments.

A former 1920s hotel, Camden Court has housed many lonely lives over the decades--and is where a number of them have come to die. They're not all resting in peace, however, including ninety-year-old Olive, who dropped dead in Kate's apartment and continues to make her presence known.

For Olive has a secret she's dying to tell. One linking her to the sex, scandal, and sacrifice of a young dreamer named Lon. As the past haunts the present, Kate's romantic notion that the thrill-of-the-chase beats the reality-after-the-catch unexpectedly entwines her modern-day love life with Lon's Jazz Age tragedy.

With a little supernatural and a lotta' razzle-dazzle, Seven for a Secret is where historical fiction meets contemporary rom-com--from the Roaring Twenties when the "New Woman" was born, to the modern Noughties when she really came of age.

Product Details

    Print Length: 376 pages
  • Publisher: Omnific Publishing (December 2, 2014)
  • Publication Date: December 2, 2014
  • Sold by: Simon and Schuster Digital Sales Inc
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00PNQG6EA
                                                   Author Rumer Haven. 
About the Author:

Rumer Haven is probably the most social recluse you could ever meet. When she's not babbling her fool head off among friends and family, she's pacified with a good story that she's reading, writing, or revising--or binge-watching something on Netflix. A former teacher hailing from Chicago, she presently lives in London with her husband and probably a ghost or two. Rumer has always had a penchant for the past and paranormal, which inspires her writing to explore dimensions of time, love, and the soul. She debuted in 2014 with Seven for a Secret, and her next novel, What the Clocks Know, was released in March 2016.

                                          www.rumerhaven.com



     Until next review, stay safe. Smile! Show compassion to others. Be nice to one another. Be a voice for animals for they have no voice of their own. Read a book and pass it on. Review it. Reviews are very important tool for authors. Be a voice for the voiceless! Cheers!
Regards,
S.J. Francis
In Shattered Lies: "It's All About Family."  Now available from Black Opal Books at all on-line retailers and independent bookstores.
    "Some secrets should remain that way."
                                                  My Official web page: http://sjfranciswriter.com
            My Black Opal Books Author Page:
            http://www.blackopalbooks.com/author-bios/bio-sj-francis
Twitter: https://twitter.com/sjfrancis419
Face Book:  https://www.facebook.com/pages/SJ-Francis/480058115420325
My Blogs: sjfranciswriter.blogspot.com 

                                                             
 
  
 
And now for some legal stuff: Copyright 2016 by S.J. Francis. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the author, S. J. Francis and are meant to entertain, inform and enlighten, and intend to offend no one.





Tuesday, October 11, 2016

5 out of 5 Stars for Chicken Eats Pasta: Escape to Umbria by Clare Pedrick....


Chicken Eats Pasta: Escape to Umbria by Clare Pedrick...                                                                


From amazon.com:

Not just another romance, but a story of escapism, coincidences, friendship, luck and most of all... love.
Chickens Eat Pasta is the tale of how a young Englishwoman starts a new life after watching a video showing a chicken eating spaghetti in a mediaeval hill village in central Italy.

“Here I was, 26 years old, alone and numb with boredom at the prospect of a future which until recently had seemed to be just what I wanted.”
Unlike some recent bestsellers, this is not simply an account of a foreigner’s move to Italy, but a love story written from the unusual perspective of both within and outside of the story. As events unfold, the strong storyline carries with it a rich portrayal of Italian life from the inside, with a supporting cast of memorable characters. Along the way, the book explores and captures the warmth and colour of Italy, as well as some of the cultural differences – between England and Italy, but also between regional Italian lifestyles and behaviour. It is a story with a happy ending. The author and her husband are still married, with three children, who love the old house on the hill (now much restored) almost as much as she does.
Chickens Eat Pasta is Clare’s autobiography, and ultimately a love story – with the house itself and with the man that Clare met there and went on to marry. If you yearn for a happy ending, you won’t be disappointed. It’s a story that proves anything is possible if you only try.




                                                                                                                



My review:

First off, it was the book title that caught my eye: Chickens Eat Pasta made me chuckle.. What a clever and humorous title. Inventive too. Then how the author, Clare Pedrick became interested in moving to Italy intrigued me even further. Imagine being intrigued enough by seeing a chicken eat pasta to make a move to a new place, another country. It’s exactly what this young British woman, the author did. She uprooted herself to start a new life after watching a video showing a chicken eating spaghetti in a mediaeval hill village in central Italy. That in itself interested this life-long traveler. I knew it was a memoir and despite memoirs not really being my thing, I had to read this one. Fortunately, I enjoyed Chickens Eat Pasta beyond the title. Why?






For one thing, Chickens Eats Pasta was cleverly written. It probably helped that the author is a journalist. And no, it isn’t a story about chickens eating pasta. No, it isn’t a cookbook either. The story begins with the author enduring another rainy, soggy day in England, and ends with her maiden Aunt Vi asking her the logical question, “How can you buy a house just because you’ve watched a video?” Good question, which this book does a great job in answering. Fortunately, the author studied Italian at Cambridge University before becoming a reporter. The funny thing about this book is that the author moved to a town that she had no idea where it was.






Chickens Eat Pasta by Clare Pedrick is a romance story, an interesting and satisfying read, but instead of the typical romance between two people, it was about her romance with an old house and the warmth and colors of Italy, specifically in the beautiful town of Umbria. Having been to Italy myself a few times, I can relate. Chickens Eats Pasta by Clare Pedrick is a great tale. I’d personally label it autobiography, memoir, and travel journal. I really enjoyed this book and have no hesitation in recommending it to others. If you enjoy traveling, especially from the safety and comfort of your favorite arm chair, may I suggest you take a look at Chickens Eats Pasta?




Until next review, stay safe. Smile! Show compassion to others. Be nice to one another. Read a book and pass it on. Review it. Reviews are very important tool for authors. Cheers!
Regards,
S.J. Francis
In Shattered Lies: "It's All About Family."  Now available from Black Opal Books at all on-line retailers and independent bookstores.
    "Some secrets should remain that way."
                                            My Official web page: http://sjfranciswriter.com
            My Black Opal Books Author Page:
And now for some legal stuff: Copyright 2016 by S.J. Francis. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the author, S. J. Francis and are meant to entertain, inform and enlighten, and intend to offend no one.