Friday, January 5, 2018

Land on Fire is Becoming a Major Problem And Not Just for Firefighters....

“This comprehensive book offers a fascinating overview of how those fires are fought, and some conversation-starters for how we might reimagine our relationship with the woods.” —Bill McKibben, author Eaarth: Making a Life on a Tough New Planet

Wildfire season is burning longer and hotter, affecting more and more people, especially in the west. Land on Fire explores the fascinating science behind this phenomenon and the ongoing research to find a solution. This gripping narrative details how years of fire suppression and chronic drought have combined to make the situation so dire. Award-winning nature writer Gary Ferguson brings to life the extraordinary efforts of those responsible for fighting wildfires, and deftly explains how nature reacts in the aftermath of flames. Dramatic photographs reveal the terror and beauty of fire, as well as the staggering effect it has on the landscape.

My Review:
“The why behind wildfire The wildfires of 2015 were the most devastating on record; more than 9 million acres burned across North America and the United States spent more than 2 billion dollars fighting and suppressing the fires. 2016 is expected to be even worse: by May, more than 1.6 million acres had already burned. Wildfire season is burning longer and hotter, affecting more and more people, especially in the west.”
More academic than entertaining, this is a valuable asset for firefighters as well as those interested in wildland fire. If you live in the woods or anywhere near them, I highly recommend you read this. Not necessarily to understand fires, but to see what exactly is involved.  Living out in the country myself, Ii’m grateful that I chose to read this book. Very informative. Easy to understand. If you know nothing about the science of fires, you will learn a great deal after reading this book. This is a book for anyone that wants to obtain a deeper understanding of fires. It explores the science behind fires and the research being done to find a solution. You'll learn about the heroic efforts of those responsible for fighting fire, how years of fire suppression and chronic drought have combined to make the situation more dire, and how nature reacts in the aftermath of flames. Color photographs throughout reveal the beauty and terror of fire and the stunning effect it has on the landscape. Land on Fire is for anyone seeking a deeper understanding of our time of fire. It is obvious to me that a great deal of research and work went into this book!

Disclaimer: Thanks NetGalley for the opportunity to read and review it!

Product details from amazon.com

  • Hardcover: 212 pages
  • Publisher: Timber Press (June 21, 2017)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1604697008
  • ISBN-13: 978-1604697001
  • Product Dimensions: 6.7 x 1 x 9.1 inches

                                               www.bloggingforbooks.com

Until next review, stay safe. Smile! Show compassion to others. Be nice to one another. Read a book and pass it on. Review it. Be a voice for the voiceless! Cheers!
Regards,

S.J. Francis
In Shattered Lies: "It's All About Family."  Released from Black Opal Books Oct. 24th, 2015 and available at all on-line retailers and indie booksellers. 
My Official web page: http://www.sjfranciswriter.com
My Black Opal Books Author Page:
            http://www.blackopalbooks.com/author-bios/bio-sj-francis 
Twitter: https://twitter.com/sjfrancis419                                 

Face Book:  https://www.facebook.com/pages/SJ-Francis/480058115420325
My Blogs: sjfranciswriter.blogspot.com 
A Book Review 4 U: abookreview4u.blogspot.com
                                  
                                                                   www.goodreads.com
A Consumer's View: aconsumersview.blogspot.com
OnefortheAnimals:    onefortheanimals.blogspot.com 
                                         
                                                                            www.storycartel.com
Google Plus: https://plus.google.com/u/0/104831238907682620486/about 
Good Reads:       http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8423986.S_J_Francis
                                 
 
And now for some legal stuff: Copyright 2017 by S.J. Francis. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the author, S. J. Francis and are meant to entertain, inform and enlighten, and intend to offend no one. 

Thursday, December 7, 2017

A Fantastic Science Fiction Tale from A Professor and Author....

Blurb:

Liam! What have you done?"" Marcus demanded. ""You know our teachings on revenge.


My Review:
I don’t really read science fiction/fantasy novels anymore but this one took me on an unforgettable ride that I really enjoyed. From the cover to the opening pages, Price of Vengeance grabs the reader and takes them on a wild ride. Fasten your seat belts for this book. I did. I loved all the original characters the author created in this young adult, science fiction, fantasy novel for all ages.
The book has a lot going for it. Plenty of action and adventure, which promises the reader won’t get bored. I didn’t. Characters one can love and cheer on. It also had a theme running through it: acceptance. The hero, Liam is a bit different because he’s adopted, but when push comes to shove he isn’t really different at all. He wasn’t born a hero, but none really are, are they? I could see this book as a cool video game. I could see this as a film somewhere up there with Star Wars, Starship Troopers and Dune and even The Last Starfighter.  There is always a Price of Vengeance.  I look forward to reading more books from author Kurt Springs.

About the Author:
Kurt D. Springs is presently an adjunct professor of anthropology and archaeology in New Hampshire. He holds a PhD. in anthropology from the State University of New York at Buffalo, as well as a Master of Literature in archaeology from the National University of Ireland, Galway, and a Master of Liberal Arts in anthropology and archaeology from the Harvard University Extension School. His main area of interest is megalithic landscapes in prehistoric Ireland.

Kurt also writes reviews on Kurt's Frontier.

Professor Springs currently lives in Manchester, New Hampshire.

Product details from amazon.com

  • Series: Dreamscape Warriors
  • Paperback: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Tate Publishing (April 22, 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1629944580
  • ISBN-13: 978-1629944586
  • Product Dimensions: 5.9 x 0.7 x 8.9 inches

                     
                                               www.bloggingforbooks.com

Until next review, stay safe. Smile! Show compassion to others. Be nice to one another. Read a book and pass it on. Review it. Be a voice for the voiceless! Cheers!
Regards,

S.J. Francis
In Shattered Lies: "It's All About Family."  Released from Black Opal Books Oct. 24th, 2015 and available at all on-line retailers and indie booksellers. 
My Official web page: http://www.sjfranciswriter.com
My Black Opal Books Author Page:
            http://www.blackopalbooks.com/author-bios/bio-sj-francis 
Twitter: https://twitter.com/sjfrancis419                                 

Face Book:  https://www.facebook.com/pages/SJ-Francis/480058115420325
My Blogs: sjfranciswriter.blogspot.com 
A Book Review 4 U: abookreview4u.blogspot.com
                                  
                                                                   www.goodreads.com
A Consumer's View: aconsumersview.blogspot.com
OnefortheAnimals:    onefortheanimals.blogspot.com 
                                         
                                                                            www.storycartel.com
Google Plus: https://plus.google.com/u/0/104831238907682620486/about 
Good Reads:       http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8423986.S_J_Francis
                                 
 
And now for some legal stuff: Copyright 2017 by S.J. Francis. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the author, S. J. Francis and are meant to entertain, inform and enlighten, and intend to offend no one. 

Thursday, November 9, 2017

Have U read the Ballad of Black Tom, yet? You should. You really should. I gave it 5 stars for this powerful emotional read.


                         The Ballad of Black Tom by Victor LaValle
Synopsis:
People move to New York looking for magic and nothing will convince them it isn't there.

Charles Thomas Tester hustles to put food on the table, keep the roof over his father's head, from Harlem to Flushing Meadows to Red Hook. He knows what magic a suit can cast, the invisibility a guitar case can provide, and the curse written on his skin that attracts the eye of wealthy white folks and their cops. But when he delivers an occult tome to a reclusive sorceress in the heart of Queens, Tom opens a door to a deeper realm of magic, and earns the attention of things best left sleeping.

A storm that might swallow the world is building in Brooklyn. Will Black Tom live to see it break?
 

Specifications:

Paperback149 pages
Published February 16th 2016 by Tor.com
Literary Awards
Nebula Award Nominee for Best Novella (2016)Goodreads Choice Award Nominee for Horror (2016)                                                         






My Book Review: 5 Out of 5 Stars:

I'm not familiar at all with the writings of H.P. Lovecraft or his bigotry. However, even though I'm not familiar with Lovecraft's characters, ancient peoples or the ctulu, I truly enjoyed this book. No spoilers here. Fortunately, one doesn't need to know anything about them to follow this book. I think, however it would deepen your enjoyment. This book is a powerful, emotional read. It's a fast read, too. If I had time and energy, and didn't have to work full time outside for a living, I would have read it in all of one night. As it was, I had to force myself by limiting to read just a chapter a night, which with this book, it was difficult to do at best. 
Racism abounded in the USA in 1924 and was no place for a young black man. By the end of this book, the USA, the world is no place to be for any human at all. Author LaValle did an excellent job at bringing this book to life. Love this book or hate it, one thing is for certain, the reader will never forget this story or the characters. I know I won't. I take off my hat to LaVelle for master storytelling and look forward to reading his other works. I highly recommend reading The Ballad of Black Tom.

                             

Until next review, stay safe. Smile! Show compassion to others. Be nice to one another. Read a book and pass it on. Review it. Be a voice for the voiceless! Cheers!
Regards,

S.J. Francis
In Shattered Lies: "It's All About Family."  Released from Black Opal Books Oct. 24th, 2015 and available at all on-line retailers and indie booksellers. 
My Official web page: http://www.sjfranciswriter.com

My Black Opal Books Author Page:
A Book Review 4 U: abookreview4u.blogspot.com
                                                          
A Consumer's View: aconsumersview.blogspot.com
 
OnefortheAnimals:    onefortheanimals.blogspot.com
 
 

                                  
And now for some legal stuff: Copyright 2017 by S.J. Francis. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the author, S. J. Francis and are meant to entertain, inform and enlighten, and intend to offend no one. 

Thursday, October 12, 2017

5 Stars for Tea Culture: History, Traditions, Celebrations, Recipes & More by Beverly Dubrin



Description:

Pour a cup, open the covers....this is your cup of tea! Tea for two, tea for three...tea for more! Hot or cold, sweetened or black, alcoholic or herbal, caffeinated or decaf: the drink may be ancient, but tea culture is trendy. More and more people are discovering the elegance, versatility, downright good taste, and even the health benefits of this delicious beverage. And they want to find out even more: the different flavors, the best methods of preparation, and the fun ways to enjoy a cup at home, with others at a party, shower, or any other special occasion. Every page of this book is infused with answers to these tea-related questions.


My Review:  

 I love a good cup of tea, or as some English would say, a cuppa. I like to drink it when I’m ill. I like to drink it when I relax. Aside from an alcoholic beverage, nothing says relaxation like a good cup of tea. There’s something comforting about a good cup of tea.

Want to learn all about this fascinating beverage that keeps tea drinkers coming back for more? I did and that is why I read this book. It is also why I am writing this review to share with you now. As the description so aptly puts it, “pour a cup, open the covers…” and read because this book is “your cup of tea”. The pictures alone worth buying this book for.

Overall, an enjoyable book that I will read more than once.  


About the Author:

Beverly Dubrin is a food journalist and tea-lover. For over 20 years, she published her private newsletter, Beverly Dubrin's Where-To-Guide, about food, shopping, and travel, and now authors Beverly Dubrin's Where-To-Guide blog. A graduate of Brown University, she previously handled Information Technology for several large American computer manufacturing companies. Beverly lives in Walnut Creek, California. 


From the Hardcover edition.

A Note from the Publisher:

Fall is in the air. Settle down with a nice cup of tea. And a book. Please note: this book was originally published in 2012. And it's just as good today as it was way back then.


Are you a tea drinker? Than this book is for you. Durbin explores the very earliest origins of drinking tea in Asia, shows readers elaborate tea ceremonies (some still used today), demonstrates the proper way to make a cup of tea and the many and varied ways it can be used. For health, well being, as a sleep aid and as a party beverage second to none, learn the secrets of the world’s most popular beverage.



                   

Until next review, stay safe. Smile! Show compassion to others. Be nice to one another. Read a book and pass it on. Review it. Be a voice for the voiceless! Cheers!
Regards,

S.J. Francis
In Shattered Lies: "It's All About Family."  Released from Black Opal Books Oct. 24th, 2015 and available at all on-line retailers and indie booksellers.
My Official web page: http://www.sjfranciswriter.com
My Black Opal Books Author Page:
            http://www.blackopalbooks.com/author-bios/bio-sj-francis 
Twitter: https://twitter.com/sjfrancis419
Face Book:  https://www.facebook.com/pages/SJ-Francis/480058115420325
My Blogs: sjfranciswriter.blogspot.com 
A Book Review 4 U: abookreview4u.blogspot.com
                                                          
A Consumer's View: aconsumersview.blogspot.com
OnefortheAnimals:    onefortheanimals.blogspot.com
Good Reads:       http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8423986.S_J_Francis
                                  
And now for some legal stuff: Copyright 2016 by S.J. Francis. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the author, S. J. Francis and are meant to entertain, inform and enlighten, and intend to offend no one. 








Tuesday, September 12, 2017

4 Stars for the Animal Forest Coloring Book by Lin Watchorn....

                                                

From amazon.com:

Animal forest, This coloring book is for all ages! Even if you are an adult. These complex and detailed illustrations will entertain and relax you for hours. It's an adult coloring book but also can be given to older children! Flowers, Nature, Animals, Houses, A large variety of scenes to be colored. 43 Different designs This thin but strong paper can withstand Colored pencils, crayons and even your favorite markers. This one sided coloring book will allow you to tear the pages out for hanging, or you can keep them inside your book! All of your favorite animals are in here, Including Dogs, Cats, Zebra, Chicken, Duck, Flamingo, elephant, Fish, Frog, Alligator, Goose, Guinea pig, Horse, Lamb, Lion, Koala, Lizard, Monkey, Owls, Panda, Penguin, Rabbit, Rat, Snake, Turtles.

My review:
I recently heard about the new craze in adult coloring books and wondered why the attraction. When I saw this one to choose from, I had to request it.  It is nicely done. Animal Forest Coloring Books is a visual treat and demonstrates the talents of this new artist, Lin Watchorn. I think she is an artist to keep an eye out for.

Animal Forest Coloring Book by Lin Watchorn has plenty of pictures in this book for anyone to choose from to keep busy and color. Whether you buy a Kindle copy or paperback, each page is single-sided so that you can tear pages out and color without destroying the book, or keep them intact in the book to peruse from time to time. There are 43 different designs that you can color with pencils, crayons and markers. There are cats, dogs, a zebra, chicken duck, monkey, owls, a panda, penguin, rabbit, a lion, and more.

This is  a very nice coloring book, but I wouldn't say it's a coloring book for all ages. Due to the fine lines for coloring, this book is definitely not for children under 12. The pictures are complex and detailed, and each page is a bit more busy than any coloring book should be, which would make it more difficult for children to deal with. All in all, I liked Animal Forest Coloring Book by Lin Watchorn and I don't hesitate to recommend it to fans of art and coloring books, or just something to skim through when you want to find a moment of distraction and clear your mind. 



Until my next review, stay safe. Smile! Show compassion to others. Be nice to one another. Read a book and pass it on. Review it. Reviews are very important tool for authors. Cheers!
Regards,
S.J. Francis
In Shattered Lies: "It's All About Family."  Now available from Black Opal Books at all on-line retailers and independent bookstores.
                          
    "Some secrets should remain that way."
                                       My Official web page: http://sjfranciswriter.com
            My Black Opal Books Author Page:
            http://www.blackopalbooks.com/author-bios/bio-sj-francis
My web page: http://sjfranciswriter.com
Twitter: https://twitter.com/sjfrancis419
Face Book:  https://www.facebook.com/pages/SJ-Francis/480058115420325
My Blogs: sjfranciswriter.blogspot.com
                                                               
A Book Review 4 U: abookreview4u.blogspot.com
A Consumer's View: aconsumersview.blogspot.com
OnefortheAnimals:    onefortheanimals.blogspot.com
Pinterest:   http://www.pinterest.com/sjfrancis419/
Google Plus: https://plus.google.com/u/0/104831238907682620486/about 
Good Reads:       https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/33550975-s-j
                                      


 
And now for some legal stuff: Copyright 2017 by S.J. Francis. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the author, S. J. Francis and are meant to entertain, inform and enlighten, and intend to offend no one.






Tuesday, August 15, 2017

A book review for The Paladins of Naertia by T.P. Keane ....5 Stars...

                                               Product Details

Synopsis: From amazon.com:
A vision sparks the beginning of treachery and war, and the kingdom of Naretia is about to fall....
Olórin’s adopted son, Aramus, is a creature unlike any in Naretia. He is feared by all, and holds a darkness inside that is said will end all life by his eighteenth birthday. Olórin must scour the kingdom for godly ingredients to make a potion for Aramus that will save them all. He is hoping his son’s human side will prevail over the rising darkness within him, for long enough to outrun their enemies.
But Aramus’s real father, the dark God Dantet, desires his son’s powers so he might, once again, walk on mortal soil. His legion of dark creatures follow Olórin and Aramus at every turn, trying to kill them. Dantet’s army, however, is not the only one wanting Aramus dead. Something, or someone, changes fate’s hand. Neither Dantet, nor Olórin, can see the terrible future that threatens them all. Even the traitors within the wizard caste are blind to what is coming.

But it is coming.

My Review:                                                                
Great debut novel! Compelling fantasy read! Highly Recommend!
    Truthfully, though I’ve long been a fan of reading science fiction and fantasy, it has been years since I’ve done so. This being said, I enjoyed this delve back into fantasy. I had no idea what I was getting into when I first began reading, but it turned out to be a very pleasant surprise. Author T.P. Keane knows how to spin words and worlds in this tale of treachery and war, and the kingdom of Naertia. There is action adventure at every turn. Every fantasy fan should enjoy this one. I certainly did, though as I’ve said, it’s been awhile since I read a fantasy tale. It has every kind of character you can imagine in it. Good and bad. There are dwarves, wolves, wizards and a wicked queen. There are characters to cheer on and those to spit at.
Take a read with The Paladins of Naertia and enter a world of worlds to distract you. I’m sure you won’t be disappointed. 

Until my next review, stay safe. Smile! Show compassion to others. Be nice to one another. Read a book and pass it on. Review it. Reviews are very important tool for authors. Cheers!
Regards,
S.J. Francis
In Shattered Lies: "It's All About Family."  Now available from Black Opal Books at all on-line retailers and independent bookstores.
                          
    "Some secrets should remain that way."
                                       My Official web page: http://sjfranciswriter.com
            My Black Opal Books Author Page:
            http://www.blackopalbooks.com/author-bios/bio-sj-francis
My web page: http://sjfranciswriter.com
Twitter: https://twitter.com/sjfrancis419
Face Book:  https://www.facebook.com/pages/SJ-Francis/480058115420325
My Blogs: sjfranciswriter.blogspot.com 
                                                               
A Book Review 4 U: abookreview4u.blogspot.com
A Consumer's View: aconsumersview.blogspot.com
OnefortheAnimals:    onefortheanimals.blogspot.com
Pinterest:   http://www.pinterest.com/sjfrancis419/

Google Plus: https://plus.google.com/u/0/104831238907682620486/about 
Good Reads:       https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/33550975-s-j
                                      


 
And now for some legal stuff: Copyright 2017 by S.J. Francis. Opinions expressed here are solely those of the author, S. J. Francis and are meant to entertain, inform and enlighten, and intend to offend no one.